Here are the games of the Aberystwyth players in the Open Section of the Dyfed Congress 2015, at the Fishguard Bay Hotel.

Round 1

In which Julie neglects her development and pays the price, I get a lesson in the Queen’s Gambit Declined, Rudy crashes through on the d file and Mike is undone by a fatally weak d3 square.

Julie van Kemenade – Lloyd Powell 0-1

Tom Brown – Matthew Francis 1-0

Rudy van Kemenade – Dewi Jones 1-0

Mike Weston – Roger Greatorex 0-1

Round 2

In which Rudy’s rook can’t compete with two pieces, Julie takes a gambit pawn and holds off the attack, and I drop a pawn to Mike without serious consequences.

Sven Zeidler – Rudy van Kemenade 1-0

Howard Leah – Julie van Kemenade 0-1

Matthew Francis – Mike Weston ½-½

Round 3

In which Rudy wins in eleven moves by a margin of one real piece and one imaginary one, Julie arrives at an equal ending after mass exchanges, I fail to make the most of a positional superiority and Mike takes advantage of an unexpected blow to offer a quick draw.

Rudy van Kemenade – Les Philpin 1-0

Julie van Kemenade – Roger Greatorex ½-½

Matthew Francis – Mike Whale ½-½

Mike Weston – Martin Jones ½-½

Round 4

In which Rudy loses a middlegame advantage but holds a difficult ending, Julie goes a piece down but checks her way to victory, Mike succumbs to a rapid kingside attack and I spend most of my game in time trouble before missing a win at the death.

Jane Richmond – Rudy van Kemenade ½-½

John Waterfield – Julie van Kemenade 0-1

Mike Whale – Mike Weston 1-0

David Buttell – Matthew Francis 1-0

Round 5

In which late tournament tiredness has its various effects: Rudy plays out a quiet draw, Julie misses a win in the ending before dropping material, I have a fierce struggle against an old rival, just missing the win at the end, and Mike takes a draw in a superior position.

Rudy van Kemenade – Lloyd Powell ½-½

Julie van Kemenade – Paul Bridges 0-1

Howard Leah – Matthew Francis ½-½

Mike Weston – Jamie Sen ½-½



No responses yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *