Aberystwyth Town Chess Club

Minutes of the 64th Annual General Meeting

7th September 2010.

Present, G Gwilliams {Chair}, A Geraghty {Secretary-Treasurer}, M Francis { Blog Master}, R Van Kemenade, J Basterfield, C Lewis

1.Apologies for absence. Julie Van Kemenade, Ian Finlay.
2.Minutes of the previous AGM accepted.
3.Matters arising.
Matthew Francis was pressed into service once again to submit club reports to the Cambrian News. The Chairman thanked Matthew for the fine work on the ‘Blog’.
4.Secretary/Treasurers report. Tony Geraghty reported that the club had a good year. The Club Championship had been run as a weekend tournament and would continue to do so. Rudy was congratulated on winning the tournament. Attendance on club nights has been down compared with the previous year, as a consequence club nights were suspended during July – August. Financially the club was in good order. The rent was paid up to December but the club was now without any funds . The treasurer proposed that the club members when playing matches should each pay the driver £1.50. The motion was passed. The secretary also reminded members that WCU fees of £10.00 and Dyfed Chess League £4.00 are now due. The treasurer was asked to keep members informed if the club could not meet its financial obligations.
Members agreed we must do more to attract new members. Posters are available from the secretary.
Rudy Van Kemenade proposed the club enter two teams in the Dyfed league; matches to be played on a Monday.
Ian Finlay was elected ‘B team’ captain.
6.Match Captains’ report. Rudy Van Kemenade stated that the club had completed all their games in the Dyfed League and finished in 2nd position. Results had been very good and we only lost to Cardigan by a narrow margin. Rudy maintained a rotating system which had given all members an opportunity to play. He congratulated the lower graded players on winning the Iolo Jones Cup.
7.Subscriptions for the coming year are maintained at the present rate.
Election of Officers. [Currently these include: Chair, Secretary/ Treasurer, Team Captain.]

Gordan Gwilliams after many years in the ‘chair’ stepped down. The secretary took the opportunity to thank Gordon for his contribution to the club and indeed hoped to see him playing in the newly formed ‘B team’. Gordon’s last duty in the chair was to propose Matthew Francis as his successor.
1. Chair – Matthew Francis
2. Secretary/Treasurer – A Geraghty
3. Team Captains – Rudy Van Kemenade, Ian Finlay.
4. Blog Master – M Francis



No responses yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *